My blog is about music and creme brulee. What that really means is music and general stuff that occupies my brain. So I guess it’s time to write something about what I have been pondering about lately.

Some days ago I met three women from Sierra Leone. And to be honest, my only knowledge of this African country is based on the Hollywood film “Blood Diamond“. Well, in addition to this I watched a BBC feature about the documentary maker that inspired this flick. But I was a bit worried that basing my knowledge solely on a movie should turn out to be a huge oversimplification of a complex and tragic problem. You probably know what I am talking about. It’s the equivalent of eagerly blurting out in a social setting that you don’t read books, but prefer movies instead. I was afraid of being interpreted as a lightweight kind of guy. Anyway, the evening turned out quite well, but then I started thinking – was I being biased? Did I address them differently? Did I shape and mold my questions in such a way to give the impression that “black power” was my middle name?

I recently read Malcolm Gladwell’s book “Blink – the power of thinking without thinking” which goes into detail about how the subconscious work and how intuition is something to be trusted and of course, wary of. It seems we all are, in one way or another, indoctrinated into having subconscious notions that contradict the official image we project on a day-to-day basis. Quite an interesting theory and it can actually be proven!

Voila! Here we are at the peak of this blogpost. Clever people at Harvard (Project Implicit) have devised a test to expose our implicit associations and the comforting fact is that it can be taken online right now! So – do you want to discover more about yourself and your inclinations? It’s revealing . Go to the IAT (Implicit Association Test) test site. Good luck!

